Duran Duran: Rio

May 10, 1982 – Duran Duran: Rio is released.
# allmusic 4.5/5
Rio is the second studio album by Duran Duran, released worldwide on this date in May 1982. It reached #2 in the UK and #1 in Australia.
The album was re-released in the United States in November 1982. It earned a Gold disc on 1 March 1983, and went Platinum on 26 April 1983, eventually reaching Double Platinum status. It peaked at number six on the Billboard 200 album chart in the US on 12 March 1983, and remained on the chart for 129 weeks.
The artistic progression from the band’s self-titled debut to the following year’s Rio was the greatest aesthetic leap of Duran Duran’s career. The group moved from catchy but somewhat rudimentary New Romantic synth-funk to elegantly arranged, sophisticated pop-rock, concentrating more on song structure than dance beats. For their efforts, they were rewarded with superstar status, due chiefly to “Hungry Like the Wolf,” a lascivious tune that injects a welcome dose of rock & roll guitar. The most impressive tracks on Rio, though, are the more contemplative, balladic offerings, like “Lonely in Your Nightmare,” “Save a Prayer,” and especially “The Chauffer,” with its stream-of-consciousness lyrics and unconventional structure, arty without seeming pretentious. If you only have one Duran Duran album, it should be Rio.
In 2000, Rio was ranked #98 in Q magazine’s “100 Greatest British Albums”.
In 2003, it was listed at #65 in the NME “100 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2004, CMJ ranked it as #1 in their “Top 20 Most-Played Albums of 1982”.
Rio ranked no. 95 of Pitchfork Media’s Top 100 Albums of the 1980s.
The album is included in the book ‘1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die’.
by Ned Raggett, allmusic
From its Nagel cover to the haircuts and overall design — and first and foremost the music — Rio is as representative of the ’80s at its best as it gets. The original Duran Duran’s high point, and just as likely the band’s as a whole, its fusion of style and substance ensures that even two decades after its release it remains as listenable and danceable as ever. The quintet integrates its sound near-perfectly throughout, the John and Roger Taylor rhythm section providing both driving propulsion and subtle pacing. For the latter, consider the lush, semi-tropical sway of “Save a Prayer,” or the closing paranoid creep of “The Chauffeur,” a descendant of Roxy Music’s equally affecting dark groover “The Bogus Man.” Andy Taylor’s muscular riffs provide fine rock crunch throughout, Rhodes’ synth wash adds perfect sheen, and Le Bon tops it off with sometimes overly cryptic lyrics that still always sound just fine in context, courtesy of his strong delivery. Rio’s two biggest smashes burst open the door in America for the New Romantic/synth rock crossover. “Hungry Like the Wolf” blended a tight, guitar-heavy groove with electronic production and a series of instant hooks, while the title track was even more anthemic, with a great sax break from guest Andy Hamilton adding to the soaring atmosphere. Lesser known cuts like “Lonely in Your Nightmare” and “Last Chance on the Stairway” still have pop thrills a-plenty, while “Hold Back the Rain” is the sleeper hit on Rio, an invigorating blast of feedback, keyboards and beat that doesn’t let up. From start to finish, a great album that has outlasted its era.
All songs written and arranged by Duran Duran.
UK/US Original LP: EMI 3411
“Rio” – 5:33
“My Own Way” – 4:51
“Lonely In Your Nightmare” – 3:50
“Hungry Like the Wolf” – 3:41
“Hold Back the Rain” – 3:57
“New Religion” – 5:33
“Last Chance on the Stairway” – 4:21
“Save a Prayer” – 5:33
“The Chauffeur” – 5:13
Duran Duran: Rio (2 CD Special Edition)
Disc one
1.            “Rio”      5:37
2.            “My Own Way”                 4:51
3.            “Lonely In Your Nightmare”         3:51
4.            “Hungry Like the Wolf”                  3:41
5.            “Hold Back the Rain”       4:00
6.            “New Religion”                 5:32
7.            “Last Chance On the Stairway”  4:21
8.            “Save a Prayer”                 5:33
9.            “the Chauffeur”               5:22
10.          “Rio” (US album remix) 5:25
11.          “My Own Way” (Carnival remix)                4:29
12.          “Lonely In Your Nightmare” (US album remix)    4:52
13.          “Hungry Like the Wolf” (US album remix)             4:03
14.          “Hold Back the Rain” (US album remix)  6:31
Tracks 1-9: Original UK album release
Tracks 10-14: David Kershenbaum album mixes, released November 1982
CD two
No.         Title       Length
1.            “Last Chance On the Stairway” (Manchester Square Demo)        
2.            “My Own Way” (the Manchester Square Demo)               4:39
3.            “New Religion” (the Manchester Square Demo)                5:33
4.            “Like An Angel” (the Manchester Square Demo)               5:03
5.            “My Own Way” (original 7″ version)        3:40
6.            “Like An Angel”                 4:43
7.            “Careless Memories” (Live at the Hammersmith Odeon)               4:15
8.            “the Chauffeur” (Blue Silver) (Early version)        3:54
9.            “My Own Way” (Night version) 6:34
10.          “Hungry Like the Wolf” (Night version)  5:12
11.          “Rio” (Night version)      6:40
12.          “New Religion” (Carnival remix)                5:15
13.          “Hold Back the Rain” (Carnival remix)      7:01
14.          “My Own Way” (Instrumental version)  6:35
15.          “Hold Back the Rain” (Alternate remix)  6:41
Tracks 1-4: Demos recorded August 28, 1981
Tracks 5-8: Non album singles and b-sides
Tracks 9-13: Versions & Mixes
Tracks 14-15: Digital only extras

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s