Marvin Gaye: Moods of Marvin Gaye

May 23, 1966 – Marvin Gaye: Moods of Marvin Gaye is released.
# Allmusic 4/5 stars
Moods of Marvin Gaye is an album by Marvin Gaye released on this date in 1966 on Tamla.  Six songs from Moods of Marvin Gaye were released as singles: impressively, all reached the Top 40 on the R&B singles chart and four of them reached the Top 40 on the Pop Singles Chart, a rare feat for a solo R&B artist even at that time. Gaye also scored his first two #1 R&B singles, “I’ll Be Doggone” and “Ain’t That Peculiar”, both co-written by Gaye’s friend, Berry Gordy’s right-hand man Smokey Robinson.
The album’s plan was to establish the singer as a strong albums-oriented artist, as well as a hit maker, although Gaye was still uncomfortable with performing strictly R&B. He had begun work on a standards album around this time after meeting musician Bobby Scott. However, sessions were unsuccessful. As a matter of fact, Gaye would successfully complete a standards album only in his later years, an album which would be released after his death. For the time being, Gaye was winning more fans and had become a crossover teen idol.
by John Bush, allmusic
After Marvin Gaye recorded tributes to Broadway and Nat King Cole in the previous two years, Motown fans may have had their suspicions raised by an LP titled Moods of Marvin Gaye. Yes, there are a few supper-club standards to be found here, but Gaye moves smoothly between good-time soul and adult pop. Most important are his first two R&B number ones, “I’ll Be Doggone” and “Ain’t That Particular,” both from 1965 and both produced by Smokey Robinson. Berry Gordy’s right-hand man also helmed “Take This Heart of Mine” and “One More Heartache,” another pair of big R&B scores, and just as good as the better-known hits. As for the copyrights not owned by Jobete, the chestnut “One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)” certainly didn’t need another reading, but Gaye’s take on Willie Nelson’s after-hours classic “Night Life” was inspired. Marvin Gaye was improving with every record, gaining in character and strength of performance, and Moods of Marvin Gaye is a radically better record than its predecessors.
Side one                                             
1              I’ll Be Doggone (W. Moore, S. Robinson, M. Tarplin) 2:47
2              Little Darling (I Need You) (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 2:35
3              Take This Heart of Mine (Moore, Robinson, Tarplin) 2:49
4              Hey Diddle Diddle (Johnny Bristol, Harvey Fuqua, Gaye) 2:30
5              One More Heartache (Moore, Robinson, Rogers, Tarplin) 2:42
6              Ain’t That Peculiar (Moore, Robinson, Rogers, Tarplin) 3:00
Side two                                             
7              Night Life (Walt Breeland, Paul Buskirk, Willie Nelson) 3:05
8              You’ve Been a Long Time Coming 2:13
9              Your Unchanging Love (Holland-Dozier-Holland) 3:13
10           You’re the One For Me (M. Broadnax, C.Paul, S.Wonder) 3:24
11           I Worry ‘Bout You (Norman Mapp) 3:24
12           One for My Baby (and One More for the Road) (Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer) 4:30


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s